You don’t have to come to the library to use the library!
Thanks to the magic of the internet (and library subscriptions), you can access online services like these for free from anywhere with an internet connection (home, work, school, coffee shop) :
Want to catch up on your favorite magazines, like Entertainment Weekly, Newsweek, The New Yorker, or People ? Search the Popular Magazines database. And there are even more! See everything there is available on the LINCC Online Resources page.
For more information, contact the Reference Desk at 503-682-2744.
Need to find out how to prepare your BBQ for a summer of grilling? Still looking for that perfect potato salad recipe? Want to know where the best places to picnic are? Is your music playlist in need of some new tunes?
Let your library help you! We have a variety of ways to assist you, both in the library and online.
Stop in and browse our books. BBQ/grilling books are in the non-fiction section at 641. 595, with general cookbooks in 641.5. Plan and prep for entertaining with books in 642.4, and discover local parks with guidebooks in 979.09.
Maybe videos better suit you? Take a look at our cooking videos, like Julia Child and Martha Stewart, in the DVDs at 641. View local areas with videos in 979.5. Have a live concert in your home – for free! – with one of our concert videos in 789.5.
And of course, there is the CD music collection, with music ranging from Ace of Base to Alabama to Aaron Copland.
Online you can use our online databases to search digital collections of magazines for articles on grilling, recipes from 100+ different magazines, and decorating ideas for that outdoor party you’re planning. Visit www.lincc.org to find out more.
Still have questions? Just ask us! Email us at email@example.com, call 503-682-2744, or stop by the Reference Desk.
Have a great weekend!
Love the NW clay soil
If it’s anything like mine, it grows in fits and starts, with every year something new to learn. There was the year I planted lilies under the maple tree, only to discover they didn’t get the sun they needed. Or the year I tried growing basil, not knowing to pinch out the flowers to keep the basil producing leaves.
Or like this year – the dead 10 foot tall stump in our backyard that was supposed to come down, oh, six years ago but didn’t because we feared it would be filled with all sorts of buggy goodness . Well, we now own a happy chainsaw and decided to try it on the stump this past weekend. We cut a sliver out of the trunk, watching for the zillions of tiny creepy crawly things to zoom out. Instead, we found lovely cedar. No knots, no bugs. Just gorgeous cedar. The stump had been an eyesore in the backyard for six years. Why didn’t we try cutting it sooner? Ah, the lessons we learn.
Now that the sun is back (for the moment) and temperatures look to be more normal, it’s the perfect time to get outside and putter in the dirt. Here are some resources at the library that may make your gardening a little easier:
- on plants and basic gardening are in Non-fiction 635
- on garden design are in Non-fiction 712
- here’s a tip: Timber Press is a Portland company that publishes books on gardening, horticulture, natural history (esp. of the Pacific Northwest). They do good stuff.
- see the non-fiction DVDs in 712, like Garden Story (the series on PBS)
- see the fiction DVDs for entertainment, like the hit British TV mystery series Rosemary and Thyme
Online Databases – access magazine articles online, for free!
- Gardening, Landscape, and Horticulture – nearly 50 magazines/journals on, you guessed it, gardening, landscape, and horticulture. Includes practical and scientific works, from American Gardener to Australian House and Garden, from Martha Stewart Living to Mother Earth News.
- Home Improvement – nearly 100 home improvement magazines/journals for weekend warriors and professional carpenters alike. Includes titles like Architectural Digest, Good Housekeeping, House and Garden, and This Old House.
Magazines - Stop in and browse (and take home!) back issues of titles like:
- Better Homes and Gardens
- Organic Gardening
Dewey Talk this Wednesday, May 12 (that’s tomorrow) at 6:30 p.m.
- Come talk with a Master Gardener and learn all about drip irrigation and soil preparation. Good things to know before you start getting dirty. Join us tomorrow night at 6:30 p.m. in the Oak Room for this free talk.
For more information, contact the library at 503-682-2744, e-mail a librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org, or stop by and ask. We’re happy to help!
So you are making that list and checking it twice, but how do you make sure you are getting the best value for your money?
Let Consumer Reports be your guide. Get ratings and recommendations from independent testers of the best and best value for kids toys, electronics, cookware, power tools, exercise equipment, wines, and much more.
Here are three ways to get your proverbial (and literal) hands on Consumer Reports for free:
- Online with the LINCC databases – Click on the “Popular Magazines” button, then click “Browse Publications” in the top navigation bar, then type in “Consumer Reports” in “Find title” (or you can browse under “C”). You can search within the Consumer Reports database or in their Annual Buying Guide.
- In house in the library’s magazine collection – The most current issue stays inhouse, but older issues can be checked out. Can’t find the issue you want? Place a hold on the copy from the LINCC catalog and it will be delivered to the Library for you to pick up.
- At the Reference Desk – Ask one of our fabulous reference librarians! We have copies that cannot be checked out, but may be photocopied.
Need some more help researching purchases? Contact a librarian (the ultimate search engine!) at 503-682-2744 or by e-mail. We hope this helps you get off to a great start with your holiday shopping!
Looking for a new recipe to spice up your holiday meal? Can’t find Grandma’s recipe for cranberry sauce? Well, look no further. Check out these cooking resources available at the library (and some online!):
- Books – Cookbooks, from vegan to glutton. How to entertain, from formal to casual. Find them all in 641-643 in the non-fiction section.
- Magazines – Want something smaller and more likely to stay open to the right page on the counter? Check out one of our cooking magazines. We have subscriptions to Bon Appetit, Cooking Light, Cooks Illustrated, Gourmet, Healthy Cooking, Martha Stewart Living, as well as other more specialized magazines that happen to have recipes (Southern Living or Sunset, anyone?).
- Videos – Books just not your thing? Looking for a visual how-to? Then take a look at our collection of chefs on DVD. Go old school with The French Chef with Julia Child, learn about the history of food with Burt Wolf’s What We Eat, or watch and learn from video cooking classes with Video Bread. DVDs for Alton Brown’s Good Eats, America’s Test Kitchen, and Rachael Ray’s 30 Minute Meals are also available by placing a hold on them through the library catalog.
- Database (online) – Take a look at our Culinary Arts Collection database. This database includes 150 (wow!) of the major cooking and nutrition magazines, with thousands of searchable recipes and restaurant reviews, as well as industry information. Can’t make it in to the library? Then take a look at this wherever you can get online.
- Websites (online) – For recipes (generally from Gourmet and Bon Appetit) with user comments & feedback (who tweaked what with how much, and other recommendations), visit epicurious.com. For recipes that range from Gourmet to more down-home cooking, also with user comments & feedback, visit recipezaar.com. If you are looking for gluten free crockpot recipes (and who isn’t?), visit crockpot365.blogspot.com (it’s really good for general crockpot recipes, too).
Best of luck with your holiday cooking!
So you just finished that novel you had been looking forward to, and now your nightstand is bare, with a single bookmark begging to fulfill its calling. What to do? Find that next great read with one (or more!) of these ways:
- Novelist - Take a wander through this online database of librarian recommended books. Includes Author Read-alikes – lesser known authors who write similarly to the big name ones.
- Best Sellers Lists – If it’s a bestseller, it has to be good, right? Well, at least it’s being talked about. Get in on the conversation!
- Award Winners Lists – Someone thought these were books of merit. Read them and see for yourself.
- Staff recommendations (in-person)- The next time you’re in the Library, take a look at the Obelisk (or Pyramid – we can’t decide what to call it) by the Reference Desk. The books on display there are for you to check out.
- Staff recommendations (blog) – We’ll post our recommendations here, and even lists of what we’re reading right now.
- New arrivals (online) – Take a look at what’s really new at the Library! Includes fiction, non-fiction, and audiobooks, as well as DVDs.
- New arrivals (in-person) – Stop by the New Books shelves when you come into the Library. I know I always find something fascinating from those shelves!
We hope you find a great book, and if you are still stumped, give our Ultimate Search Engines (i.e. reference librarians) a shot. They are more than happy to help!
So you check your library account, renew your items and even place holds online. But did you know there is even more to use and explore from our website? Take the Library home with you with these fantastic services – all with just a click of the mouse!
- eNews - Get the latest Wilsonville Library news and event information via email.
- Librarian chat - Can’t make it to the Library but have a question (and it’s the middle of the night)? “Chat” with a librarian. They will even email you the text of your chat dialogue!
- Email a reference librarian – Chatting too fast for you? Want to contact a Wilsonville librarian? Just fill out the online contact form and one of our librarians will answer you.
- Digital collections - Learn about the history of Wilsonville with these digital archives.
- Download audiobooks – Why wait to get to the Library when you can download an audiobook right now? The collection includes fiction (like mysteries and classics), as well as non-fiction (like biographies, business/career titles, and current events), and even videos!
- Magazine databases – Looking for reviews and recipes from your favorite magazines? Search online magazines from “Consumer Reports” to “Cooking Light.”
- Chilton online automotive repair manuals - Trying to adjust that timing belt, and it’s not going right? Looking for your car’s maintenance schedule? Check the Chilton manual and keep your car happy.
- Genealogy databases – Learn about your family’s ancestry and trace your genetic history.
- Novelist - Looking for that next good read? Check out Novelist, where you can find recommended books, prize winners, and even “Author Read-alikes” – authors who write books similar to the author you like.
- Mango languages – Forget the CDs and language tapes. Learn languages online! Mango will even keep track of your lessons for you.
And that’s just to start! Visit the Online Databases at www.lincc.org to find out more.