Library local artist of the month: Bob Jones

July Artist of the Month: Bob Jones

July Artist of the Month: Bob Jones

Every month on our Art Display wall (the wall behind the New Books), we feature artwork by a different local artist. July’s Artist of the Month is Bob Jones.

Want to know more about Bob? Here he is in his own words:

*****

Starting with a Kodak Brownie camera when I was eight and progressing to a 2-1/4 x 3-1/4 sheet film Speed Graflex plus darkroom in high school, I have been taking pictures for sixty years.  Most of the time the photos I took were nothing but throw-away snapshots.  While we were racing sled dogs, though, I started taking portraits of teams for other racers.  I did the same for car racers when we entered auto-crosses and hill-climbs.  This is when my technique and equipment had to improve.  Now I take mostly travel, landscape or flower photos for publication in magazines and my books (four published travel guides for golfers and a book of travel stories) as well for sale in shows and a gallery in Scotland.

I believe that Photoshop and my computer are my darkroom.  Ansel Adams and Edward Weston had the eyes of masters and were genius in manipulating the prints from their 8 x 10 negatives in their darkrooms.  I use my computer/darkroom to clean up my images or create something beyond what I saw in the camera.  For example, prints like “The White Church, Comrie,” start with a Raw photo which is then in one program converted to a sketch, re-colorized in a different program, sized in a third program, and cleaned up in Photoshop or Nik Viveza.

For equipment I use several Nikons (including a D600, D7100, and Nikon 1) with a variety of Nikon lenses and print on Epson, Moab, or Red River papers on an Epson 2400 printer.

*****

For more information about the Art Display wall, contact Art Gallery Coordinator Karen Brennan at brennan@wilsonvillelibrary.org or 503-682-2744.

Leave a Reply

